Anxiety symptoms or actual HIV risk?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi, all. 

In October, I had an encounter with a man who is not my boyfriend, now fiance. The encounter was unprotected vaginal sex, however he did not ejaculate inside of me. Other than feeling tremendous guilt, I have had no "tell-tale" HIV symptoms (fever, diahherea, night sweats, anything consistent with sero-conversion). I am also a graduate student and very stressed out in general. Recently, I began experiencing patches of dry skin, extreme fatigue, and severe anxiety symptoms. I had a negative rapid blood test in April, an additional one in early June, and just recently a fourth generation AG/AB blood test in a lab that came back negative. It has been approximately eight months since my last exposure, but now I have a mouth ulcer, frequent dry mouth, and I honestly can't tell if my lymph nodes are swollen or not. I keep assuring myself that I am just anxious and racked with guilt as all of my tests have come back negative, but I really need additional opinions. Similarly, I feel terrible for having betrayed my boyfriend and I can't bear to think that I could have passed something to him. Should I still be concerned about HIV? Am I just experiencing guilt-ridden anxiety? 

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

For something like this the best thing is to talk to your doctor and get tested for hiv or other stds. It seems like your going thru alot
    • Posted

Thank you. I have, I've spoken to both my planned parenthood doctor and pcp and they both say that no follow up tests are needed as the results have been negative 6-8 months out. I just can't shake the feeling that something may happen and I'll go for routine blood work and find out that I do have HIV in the future. 

• Posted

If your results are negative 6-8 months out then you are clear.

I trod on a disgarded sharp and had 4 months with 5 tests. At 4 months consultant said 100% clear

• Posted