Anyone been misdiagnosed with Bipolar?

Posted , 3 users are following.

I have been battling with Depression and Anxiety for many years and taking a range of Anti Depressants.

Recently having waited years before being referred to a Psychiatrist, I finally see someone. Being keen to have a specific diagnosis, so I know what I'm working with he agrees with my previous Psychologist, but when having waited 6 weeks and having asked repeatedly for a written diagnosis he puts "F3130 Bipolar Affective Disorder - Current Episode Moderate Depression without Somatic Syndrome".

I've felt like this particular Psychiatrist throughout a 3 sessions I've seen him is jut trying to get rid of me and see his next patient, he's never particularly engaged and has gone from a diagnosis of depression and anxiety to Bipolar.

Interested to hear if anyone else has been misdiagnosed and how common it is?

I've asked to see a new Psychiatrist, but so far the messages have not been passed on and nobody has called me when they said they would.

The toll it's taking on my health is unbelievable and on hearing that I was apparently Bipolar via a letter, when it was never even mentioned in out sessions, had a very bad affect of my current condition.

J

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi J

I am sorry to hear about your anxiety.

It is fair to say that psychiatry is like economics as much of an art as a science (I once attended a lecture on economics concerning this).

The first time I was admitted to hospital 30 years ago I was diagnosed with reactive depression - or treated for this.

The next admission was 10 years later following which I was working part-time for a year and then given early retirement due to ill-heath. I must have been given a "diagosis" in my sick note because it requires that. I don't know what it was.