Anyone find benefits even after 6 weeks??

Posted , 7 users are following.

Just wondering if anyone felt even more better after 6 weeks of citalopram . Feel like I've plateaud abit..

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Tim

I felt similar after seven weeks on 20mg & felt like I was going backwards so reduced to 10mg & improved greatly , have been good for the last 12 weeks on 10mg

• Posted

Thanks Tom. How did you know to go back down, I would have thought it would make the anxiety worse. So lower dose doesn't always mean less efficiency?

• Posted

Tim

Although I never felt great on 20mg the medication must have been doing a job in the background as after a couple of months my side effects were coming back & anxiety & depression was getting worse a lot like when I first started the cit , I was getting very lethargic again & sweating loads at night . The reduction sorted this within 48hrs . Obviously this won't be the case for everyone & I'm no expert

• Posted

Hi, just wondered what made you decrease rather than increase the citalopram ?
    • Posted

I discussed with my doctor who thought an increase might work but as I said before the side effects seemed to be my main problem & exaggerated my original problems so I thought a reduction might be worth a try first ( 10 mg ) . I ve never looked back fingers crossed of course.

• Posted

It differs from everyone , for me they kicked in in 3 weeks.

• Posted

I am on day 16 and feel like it has already helped me some. I don't overthink as much and my anxious feelings don't last long if I do have them. There are some people on here that say that it can take up to 3 months to work...but if you ask me, those people may have needed a higher dose. I took Celexa back in 2009 and my doctor said it may take up to a 4 weeks/a month. My current doctor said the same thing. I believe if you aren't feeling relief after 4-6 weeks, it may be time to adjust your dose, such as you did.

• Posted