Anyone tried Botox for Migraine?

Posted , 6 users are following.

just wondered any stories of success???

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

After 40 years of severe migraines im three weeks away from having botox..tried codeine every triptan ..topiramate..gabapentin..amitryptyline etc..you need to be opiate free to have botox DO NOT STOP opiates without gp decreasing dose otr youll suffer opiate withdrawal headache worse rhan any migraine ill post one had botox to let you know 31 needles in neck and head every 12t-14t weeks ..angie
  • Posted

I have been doing the Botox in the head for almost 3 yrs every 3 months.  I would say the upside is that my migraines now do not require an Emergency Room visit and they are milder.  But they are, unfortunately, not gone.  So I woould say its worth it to do. Hopefully you will have some luck with it.  Good luck
  • Posted

I took a series of Botox 3 times. I didnt see much improvement. I had very annoying side effects. Difficulty swallowing, cold chill down my back and stiff nick. My neurologist still can't believe I had those side effects. He said I am the only one of his patients on Botox that had side effects! Maybe it will work for you. Also, I couldnt raise my eyebrows!
  • Posted

Hi Josie, 

Have you been offered Botox for your condition? From my experience it has made a very marked improvement in pain levels.I refused it at first because of my real fear of injections but the pain got so bad I realised it was worth a few minutes discomfort.

It does feel uncomfortable but if you chat and focus upon other things it really helps reduce your fears and muscle tension which can make it more uncomfortable.Now because it has helped my pain levels so much I'm happy to put up with ten minutes pain for several months of lesser strength of pain. To have less pain means a great relief but it does not help the hemeplegia and sometimes other drugs have to be used to try to reduce