Anyway to predetermine whether blockage will re-occur without removing a Foley cathether, etc?

Posted , 6 users are following.

(I'm a newbie, and a veteran here suggested I start a new thread with my query, to get more responses. Here it is below.)

So, the ER doc said, “bad luck” I had bladder damage from the Foley removal and my first try at self-cathing.

Until 1 September 2018, I was a 67-year old with the energy of a much younger man; and, healthier, for my age, than anybody I knew.  Sadly, now, I need more-experienced “elders”, perhaps, you, to help me see the exit sign from having to carry a in-dwelling urine bag the rest of my life.  I am feeling "lost".  Here's the timeline:

1 September: Ate two plates of spicy Indian food and drank maybe 4 glasses of water during the evening. When I got home I suddenly could not pee nor poo. On the advice of dial-a-nurse, I went to Emergency at a city hospital, around 1am. They took blood work and ran tests. Approximately 4pm a doctor examined my prostate and declared “it's huge”. He ordered a sonogram (ultrasound imager for bladder) and the sonogram nurse said, “You're full - you just bought yourself a cathether”. The 2-liter bag was nearly filled. She strapped on a leg-bag connecting to the Foley in-dwelling cathether. The nurse also gave me a 2-liver overnight bag, and instructions. I asked another nurse “how long will I be wearing this?” He said, “one day to a few months”. I went home.

Did a whole bunch of research.

I read one more more forum posts that if a bladder gets more than 1.3L (1300ml), it doesn't go back to it's normal compressing function.