Apixaban

Posted , 3 users are following.

My mother has been on apixaban for roughly 5 months she has heart fibralation. She has not been feeling well recently and decided to stop taking the tablets  2 days before she flies I am scared as to what the consequences are. Will this cause a stroke, as they keep telling us. I have advised her to cut it down slowly. She was taking 2 tablets now to take 1  but I am not a doctor and it’s the weekend and we fly tomorrow. Anybody know what I should advise her. She is adamant she is not taking them

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

Hi I am on apixaban and I would not be stopping my medication in your situation as this would increase the risk of blood clots and possible stroke. I would get her to see her gp so he can advise her accordingly
  • Posted

Hello helen,

I was put on apaxiban for 3 months but after a month they made me ill and I stopped taking them. No one told me to stop taking them gradually after the 3 months were up. I told the doctor I was going to take bromelain instead which is a natural anti coagulant along with other natural blood thinners, he said get some ginger root.

I think if you have had clots doctors automatically say you are at risk anyway. I would make sure mom drank water and took/ate foods that were natural blood thinners if she wants off them but, as she is flying we know that is a problem with clotting so, maybe it is best to keep on them until after the holiday.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!