Are cystoscope procedures dangerous at all?

Posted , 14 users are following.

I've been told that my major urinary problem is BPH.  I have never had the scope up the urethra done; wasn't even offered to me but they had me scheduled for pre-op for G.L.  The last time I went to my Uro's office I requested & scheduled an appointment in Jan. to have it done.  I've been doing CIC for about 5 months and that is going as well as can be expected.  Actually I'm pretty happy about it.  3-5 CICs a day and I don't have to worry.

I just dont want to do anything that will cause my insides more trauma.  I don't intend to have surgery until they come up with something that can shrink the prostate without trauma.  I may be waiting until my end; but then so-be-it.  So I guess having the cystoscopy is really kind of unnecessary.  I just read a lot on here about "oh, my prostate is 65 grams" or "I have mainly a medium lobe enlargement" etc. and I just kind of wonder what is going on with me.  The glove inspection with the finger up the anus was done twice.  The last time the doc said will its definitely enlarged but it feels smooth.  He seemed to think that is good; but thats about all I know about it.  He seemed to have decided on GL laser surgery just from that but I didn't allow things to go that course.  Hate to keep cancelling appointments; I give them plenty of notice ahead of time though.  Anybody have bad experiences with the cystoscope?  I understand the the newer flexible ones are preferable. 

0 likes, 32 replies

32 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Having a caring, competent urologist determines a good outcome, no matter what's done.

A non-caring, incompetent urologist can cripple you for life.

• Posted

I've had several cystoscopies over the last decade and never had a bad experience during or after any of them.

A little soreness perhaps on one or two occasions but nothing more than that.