Arthroscopic Knee Surgery

Posted , 2 users are following.

Had arthroscopic knee surgery on both knees, and a lateral release on right knee over 20 years ago for "floating debri".  20 years and 7 days ago had it again on left knee for double mensius tear and "clean out".  I am female, 74 and single and live alone.  I am a retired professional dancer.  Never had any problems with the knee surgeries, went back to work always after about 5 days. No pain, no swelling, no nothing, no pills necessary. Also had bone spurs removed from both feet, same deal, no problems, back at work in 5 days.  This time,Thanks to God, also no problem. I am on day 7, and have had no pain other than on day 3 so I took an Aleve and it went away.  Still have some swelling, but am driving and walking without cane with no problems or pain. Go to have stitches out tomorrow.  Had the 2-hole arthroscopic knee surgery.  I do have Osteoarthritis as shown on MRI.  I do a lot of exercises I found on internet, plus I am very active. Also did some weed eating yesterday with no problems.  My only companion is my German Shepherd dog, Gaby and she is constantly with me also a senior at 10 years old. I am a member of Gold Gym and looking forward to when I can get back to that and the jacuzzi. I hope everyone has as good a time as me with your surgery.  Good luck.   

1 like, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Wow.....you are amazing. I just had tkr on the right and thought I was doing well. But I can't imagine going back to work after just 5 days?!! That's pretty unbelievable. I'm on week 6 and am walking with no assists, no limp. Still have stiffness and cannot go completely around on the bike. But I'm doing really well. Did you have a complete knee replacement? I, too, am in your age group - - I'm 69. Hoping to have knee replacement in the left within a few weeks. 

• Posted