As a guitarist, I'm worried about my hands

Posted , 2 users are following.

I'm a 17 year old male, 5'8, and 120 pounds. I play various genres of guitar, including classical. The only thing I'm good at is playing guitar, and I think I could have a genuine future in playing, which is the reason my hands matter so much to me. Over the last few months, I've focused on lifting weights because of how skinny I am, and recently I've had problems doing it because of apparent problems in my hands. The specific problems I experience are: Stiffness of the joints in my knuckles after carrying something slightly heavy, stiffness in my wrist (including some pain and a feeling like I need to pop the wrist), and slight throbbing pains in my fingers, which seem to occur randomly. Other than this, my fingers are limber, and I can play guitar as quickly as ever, but these symptoms leave me a bit scared. My family has a history of arthritis if that means anything. I told a physical therapist about my pains, to which he suggested that my hands are just weak. I denied this, as my hands are arguably stronger (to scale) than any other muscle group I have. My forearms even look more toned than any other muscle I have. The remaining solution is that my hands are overworked. Does this mean that I can't workout involving my hands, since it always causes me pain? And that I have to have skinny arms forever? I can handle staying skinny, but if I lose the ability to play guitar, it would destroy my mental health. I'm grateful for any advice anyone's able to give, thank you.

0 likes, 1 reply

1 Reply

• Posted

Check your posture. I started playing classical guitar in my mid-twenties and was making pretty good progress for three or four years.

Then I started having problems with weakness and soreness in my hands and arms.

I arms became basically instantly fatigued when I put them over my head.

What I had was Thoracic Outlet Syndrome (TOS), but I didn't know it at the time.