Atypical GERD symptoms

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hey guys. I'm new to this forum and I was interested if anyone has similar GERD symptoms. I'm 44, about 40 lbs overweight and male. Don't smoke but struggle with smokeless tobacco and use but not abuse alcohol. My diet could be better but it's not terrible. I have a high stress job (ambulance for over ten years) and I'm a full time student.

I started having chest discomfort shortly before my divorce and has continued since. That was 5 years ago. I'm remarried and so happy I'm stupid. I figured once things stabilized my chest tightness would go away.

Ive been seen by my cardiologist (family history of heart disease) and everything checks out. I was able to corallate some of my chest discomfort with food intake but what has changed is that I have episodes of left shoulder pain as well as back lower teeth pain and frequent palpitations. My doctor diagnosed me with gerd, told me to loose 30 lbs, stop drinking, quit chewing and relax. Oh ya, exercise more. Full time job, full time student, full time family...no time for much of anything else if the weight and my vices remain.

20 mg am and pm of Prilosec 2 years ago relieved a lot of my symptoms but now they are back.

It sucks to know, with what I do for a living, the symptoms I'm having are very classic cardiac symptoms.

Anyone have similar issues?

3 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi my freinds.

Do you have much stress?

Anexity and stress make acid reflux worth

• Posted

Yes I do. Once I finish my degree I'll be able to slow down and relax a bit. Thanks.

• Posted

Everybody is under stress today but I wouldn't just make an easy conclusion that stress is the ause of your GERD. You've literally got people with panick attacks daily ( extreme stress) which never had heartburn...