Awaiting treatment for potential detached retina. Can I cover my injured eye?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hey all,

I was hit in the left eye by a tennis ball earlier today and I want straight to the eye emergency department. My symptoms are that of having a detached retina, but because of the blood inside I have been put on two different eye drops and I am to go back on Monday once the blood clears up a bit.

My question is, the flashing lights and the general sensitivity of the injured eye is causing me to have quite the headache. When I cover the eye with a piece of cloth, the pain goes away. Am I ok to keep it covered until I go back for further treatment, removing it to apply my eye drops?

Thanks

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

I'm no expert but I've had a lot of eye issues in my time and I cannot think of any reason why not. The contrary, it's probably a good idea to protect that eye.

Why don't you go straight to the chemist and buy a proper eye patch with elastic? They are slightly conical in shape and so are specially designed to protrude over the eye socket so they don't interfere in your blinking and eye movements at all. Really comfortable.

Make you look like Long John Silver! Very fetching!

• Posted

I would ring A & E for their opinion. I personally wouldn't black out the eye completely after being told the eye could stop working. I've had both cataracts replaced, even then the eye patch had holes in it.

Good luck

• Posted

Do you have sunglasses more appropriate as they will let light in.

• Posted

Thanks, I did indeed end up wearing my sunglasses as it reduced the headache and let me keep what's left of my vision. Currently, the flashing has gone and I have no reason to cover it anymore.

Hoping I can recover most of my vision when I go back tomorrow

• Posted