B12 levels

Posted , 5 users are following.

Can anyone tell me what the low measurements of B12 & the high please? I’m new to all this and trying to gather enough information before my next appointment. Thank you

1 like, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

Search Pernicious Anemia B12 Deficiency Support Group on Facebook. They will have these answers for you. 

There are Standards that are set but each body is different so what it low for one could be fatal in another. NHS considers anything under 150 as low. Your number is bottom of the range. 

• Posted

Thanks Dena58, I am still waiting for acceptance on the group smile
  • Posted

Hello Hayley

Mine was 98 and I've had 6 boosters then another and folic acid and now waiting on another blood test to see if its improved. What was yours? X

• Posted

Hi Elaine

Oh that’s incredibly low then? Hope your results come back good 👌🏻, mine was 176 which he said was just slightly low, so I got a further testing on Thursday to check it again, also testing for CRP & Celiac too. Xx

• Posted

Hayley i felt So rough! Slightly better but not completely as have other problems also...... i couldnt work for 2 months and now back on reduced hours. Do you feel any better? X
    • Posted

Oh no sad that’s the one thing that worries me that if I’m not treated rightly then it’ll effect me at work too! I haven’t had any tretement of shots as off yet, GP requested another b12 blood test on Thursday, if it’s low he said then I’ll have the injections, I also have other problems so been referred to different people, I feel I need a full body MOT lol! Been looking into paying privately so I’ve got more hours in work to fund for that! X

Hope you feel better real soon!! 

• Posted

I was treated with a level of 176, but I had lots of symptoms. Once you are on treatment any excess B12 is excreted by the body.
    • Posted

Hi Marion,