Back and leg pain

Posted , 4 users are following.

Does anyone else have this problem? I have degerative disc disease, I've had it since I was 23 years old. I had a ruptured disc when I was 19, and 2 laminectomies by the time I was 30. I had my first fusion when I was 34 and am looking to get another one in a month. I have been on pain meds for the majority of my adult life, and to be honest I'm just getting tired of all of it. Suggestions?

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

I can appreciate how tired you are of it all. I've been battling chronic back pain for 13 years and I've been on pain meds for 10 years. It certainly does get old doesn't it. You might look in your area for a chronic pain group. I think contact with other chronic pain patients helps you get through the flares and the bad times. If you do Facebook there are a number of chronic pain sites that you could join for moral support and for information. There is even one specifically for back pain. I can give you the names of those groups if you're interested, just send me a private message. BTW my name is Kathleen Kaiser. I hope your surgery works out for you. Back surgery as such a low percentage of success I think that we have to take that into consideration before we decide on surgery. Good luck to you.

• Posted

Hi Laura

Your back history sounds like my husbands. He has degenerative disc disease, spinal stenosis has had had 2 laminectomy’s and 2 spinal fusions. No relief from any except the first surgery the disc had exploded and there were pieces that had to be removed. This all started at 23 and he’s 51 now. He has been in chronic pain forever, been on all pills, tried all therapies, now he’s on morphine and a list of other drugs due to side effects of pain meds.