Back support

Posted , 4 users are following.

Has anyone used or can recommend a support belt/brace. I've had 8 fractures on my spine and although these have healed T10 is giving me some pain under my ribs. I'm just wondering if anyone has had a similar problem and used a belt for support.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Molly

You have been so unfortunate with your spine.  Have you asked for advice from either your   Physiotherapist  or Doctor concerning a back support?  Do they think it’s a good idea?

Apart from loosing several inches in height and a coccyx injury, I’ve had no personal experience of multiple spinal fractures, thank God.   I know it’s quite different, but when I had the plasters removed from both wrists I asked the orthopaedic doctor about wrist supports,  as both arms/wrists felt so weak  and was told I mustn’t use any supports as it would delay getting the muscles working to full capacity.     Whether this would apply to healed spinal fractures,  I really don’t know.  I assume you will have Physio to strengthen your support muscles?

i wish you luck and hopefully the pain issue will soon resolve.

• Posted

I feel so sorry for you. I have had 2 spinal fractures, at different times and it took a lot hard work and determination to get back to normal. Lynne makes a good point. If too much support is given it will stop the muscles from strengthing and this needs to be done to improve your quality of life in the future. However, some sort of support used intermittently would help, with strengthing exercises in between. Get expert advice as it Is crucial you don’t do more harm than good. Good luck
  • Posted

Thank you for your replies. I'm seeing a spinal physiotherapist next week  and have a follow up appointment with the consultant at the end of the month.