Back to work.

Posted , 4 users are following.

I had my bunion done in may. All went well. Went back to work 3 weeks ago on part time hours. As I work in retail I'm on my feet all the time. Doing 5 hours instead of 8 but at about 4 hours my feet are killing me. They want me to go back to full time next week. Don't quite know what to do, any advice please. 

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Janet, if you are on a till in a shop, couldn't you sit on a stool, they all do in UK. But if you are walking around in your job you maybe should be taking more time of work so you dont undo the good work.

• Posted

Hi I walk around a lot at work and some heavy lifting. I am taking things very slowly but find when I get home after 6 hours my big toe and second toe are puffy and stiff. I am going to cut down my hours again. I don't want to go back wards with my progress. 

• Posted

Hi Janet. I had my op 6 weeks ago, so I don't have your experience yet, but have you tried compression socks? Could imagen it would help redirect the blood upwards and help the swelling which can be part of the pain.... I found all kinds of types from just covering the fore foot  Knitido Dr. Foot® Hallux Valgus - Half Toe Compression Band, Bunion control/prevention) to up to the thighs-socks...maybe someone has experience with this... You probably did consider foot soles with soft bed, support etc., that woukd make a big difference as well, I should think....

I really feel sorry for you, can imagen the discomfort and pain!

• Posted

Thanks for your advice. Coming up to 3 months with mine. Work have been good but am going to see if I can continue doing part time for another couple of months just to be on the safe side. 
  • Posted