Back to work after hysterectomy - overthinking everything?

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi All, I’m new to this blog. Started to read it today and comments being made have really helped. Just thought I’d post one as just started back to work after 14 weeks signed off , 1 week holiday and now at 16 weeks post op. I work in London (commute by train /bus) have a long commute so doing a “phased return”. Been feeling really, panicky, worrying what my colleagues really think and doubting my abilities. Found myself getting quite tearful but not showing it to colleagues. Boy ! Do you feel tired even tho not doing full day😴Anyone else going through this stage at the moment? 

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi lynda. I felt exactly the same when I returned to work. I felt my work colleagues were talking about me. I felt panicky,tearful. I felt I was having a break down. I must admit I felt this for about 4mths. Tiredness I still get tired. More quickly to. It's been 2 year's now and I feel Im getting there. It does take time. Take one day at a time. X

• Posted

Hi Gillian I really appreciate your advice Thankyou 👍🏻It is early days and the good thing is I can at least work at home too. I will take one day at a time and make the most of my phased return X

• Posted

This sounds so familiar to me, I was a senior manager in the NHS following my hysterectomy and struggled with exactly the same kind of symptoms. I put it down to the loss of hormones including testosterone that gave me the drive and motivation I had prior to my surgery. I did actually leave my role but the positive thing out of this is that I now have a much better job at a stress level I can manage. I am very better now and not suggesting you leave your job, but for me it was the right thing to do. 

Hope you feel better in yourself 

Jo x

• Posted