backache and doctor trouble

Posted , 5 users are following.

Right, I have had a bad back on and off for nearly two years and I’m getting nowhere.

I have right SI joint and lower back pain, my left side is now hurting also and I have pain in my left butt cheek that goes down the back of my leg. I also recently started getting left leg pain.

I also for the last nine weeks have been suffering with right upper back pain, which is so painful and it even hurts to breathe sometimes. I have a bad night sleep every night, my hand keeps going numb, I have neck pain all the time and sometimes I can’t even stand up if I have been sitting down! I’m not a doctor but this isn’t right! It takes me a lot to get up the nerve to go to the doctor, but every time I do it’s just take paracetamol, heat or cold therapy and go away basically! 

I love my job, but I am in so much pain every day now and I fear the pain is at a level where I will end up leaving my job.  Every time I go to my doctor he just acts like I’m after a sick note and I’m not, I’ve had less than 3 weeks off sick in 6 years and most of that was stomach bug related, or having an operation. I went to see my doctor today and he said that I have to just keep taking pain relief and wait for the pain to calm down and he had no advice for work, because I just had to go to my occupational heath at work, but he’s my doctor? Should I go to another doctor? It’s been far too long now to just “sit and wait” for the pain to go away and when I asked if I should be heavy lifting (becaue my boss asked me to find out) his words were “It’s nothing to do with me, it’s to do with you and your manager and she can write to me, but that’s a waste of his time and hers” 

There are so many people who fake back problems and get away with it! I don’t want a sick note, I don’t want to go on sick leave, I just want to be taken seriously? Should I change doctor, do I have a reason to change doctor?