Bad SVT and work

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone

I'm new to here but relieved to see there are other people suffering with the same condition as me. I've got SVT and have had some pretty bad episodes recently, with my heart rate at about 190bpm for 1h+. Have ended up in hospital twice over last 2 months to be given adenosine. After much contemplation I've decided to tell my work about it as I'm a teacher and i can't always leave easily if an episode comes on so thought it's best for someone to know. It's kind of been made into a huge deal with risk assessments etc and I'm wondering now if I've made a mistake. I have had to miss work though due to exhaustion after a bad episode so maybe it's best to be honest about it 😔 sometimes I almost fear people don't believe me because I'm completely fine when not having an episode. Just wondering if anyone has been in a similar position and and what you guys think. Am on bb for the svt but it's not working brilliantly at the moment!

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Lots of empathy from me for you and your situation, and at least one significant commonality, other than SVT. I was a Naval aerospace physiologist in flight status for 20 years. I was a biology professor for 24 years. Hoping to encourage you, I more than survived those demanding professions as I battled SVT. My Navy did every imaginable test, and some that weren't, on me and allowed me to continue flying. These days they wouldn't have, until I had a successful ablation and went a year or so without SVT. Academic colleagues helped with emergency room visits over the years.

I'm not surprised over the "big deal" component. Non SVT folks will not be able to easily understand our health challenge and what it can do to us, physically and emotionally. Expect that, be prepared to take appropriate legal action if necessary to protect your employment, survive, and advance.