BED PAN RECOMMENDATIONS PLEASE - ALSO GEL PACKS

Posted , 12 users are following.

I haven't a clue what type of a bed pan would be suitable (safe!!) to buy after I come home. I'm having to cope on my own and I dread not being able to get out of my bed and acxropss to the bathroom in time in the night. I'm 75 and I also have nerve damage/numbness in my feet and lower legs so my balance is poor at the best of times. I'm not very good at getting out of bed quickly as I have to stand a while to balance myself so is there any hippie on her whose bougfht a bedpan for this reason and can recommend one please? Sorry to ask all these questions but I've only got a week to go.

Also a question about icing.Do you recommend gel packs or frozen peas?

Anything else?> I've got grabbers, an apron with pockets, everything up high,shoe horn, microwave meals,..it's the bedpan thing that's starting to concern me.  Is there a flatish one if you can't move very well?

0 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hello Sarah,

I am 2 weeks post-THR. and also suffer from peripheral neuropathy with the tingling in feet and legs as you describe.  From Day 1, I have used the 'elevated ' toilet seat (commode) as others have mentioned.  My bathroom is 7-8 steps away from my bed.    

Of course, I had to walk slowly and balance myself carefully to use the toilet at night.  To solve the 'not getting there quick enough" problem, I bought a good supply of what we call in the US, 'feminine sanitary napkins'---the thickest available. Before bedtime, I place the napkin inside my underwear.  Since I still am unable to put on 'Depends' by myself, I continue to use the napkin solution at night. 

I use frozen bags of peas simply because I find them to be more malleable.  And as someone mentioned, having a helper for the first couple of days would be wonderful. Follow all exercises your medical people recommend. But do