Been diagnosed with Epilepsy while detoxing from opiates

Posted , 2 users are following.

I've been tapering from Oxycontin for the past 6 months and got down from over 400mg daily to 150mg daily. Its been tough but I am getting there. I have been having seizures though for the past 12 months. I have put it down to the withdrawal but the neurologist says that the oxycontin may be a trigger but is not the cause of the seizures. I am really reluctant to keep taking the Keppra medication he has put me on as it makes me so so tired. Plus I am trying to get my body back to some sort of normality without drugs. Has anyone else had issues like this? My GP has also put me on anti depressants to help me taper my Oxycontin down further, has anyone found this helps? I have a chronic pain condition so need some sort of pain relief but do not want it in the form of opiates any longer.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hello matey.

You really are suffering!!

I know we've talked before. I never suffered with seizures or anything like that but, I was given antidepressants for a while due to my low mood when I started to taper.

I tried 2 types, I can't remember the first but the 2nd one was sertralin. I stayed on both for the amount of time I was told too but neither helped me at all. Either withdrawal or mood wise!

I didn't get seizures even though I was actually asked if I did at one point due to the amount I had been taking. As you know I was on around 1500mgs per day when I decided that I wanted my life back! So, there must be a reason why I was actually asked that, yet your consultant said Oxy wouldn't cause them. If that's the case then why was I asked that question!!!????

I don't think you will find anyone medical or anyone to do with the big Pharma industry will say yes, Oxycontin can cause it for obvious reasons!!! Corrupt world we live in hey!!