Been prescribed propranolol for anxiety, unsure of how much to take?

Posted , 4 users are following.

I've been prescribed 40mg to take an hour or so before a "stressful situation". 

I have a big presentation to do in January, but I go home for Christmas at the end of the week, without any "stressful situations" to try it out with. 

So I took 40mg yesterday evening to test the effects. 

I was just wondering if I was likely to feel anything not having been in an anxious situation? 

How much do people usually take before public speaking? 

Any advice? 

Also do side effects such as nausea tend to go over time or should I just stop taking asap, 

Thanks!

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Ana!

i am new to propanolol so my advice is necessarily limited but it seems that everyone reacts differently to this dose.  Some are taking only half a 10mg tablet and is does the trick.  Some are on 40mg three times a day and that works too.  I was prescribed 40mg once a day for heart arythmias but found it completely zombified me, plus reduced my BP to a very low level, so I now split the dose and take 20mg twice a day.  It seems to work but I still feel very tired and not really well.  I reckon some people are just more sensitive to the drug.  Others with more esperience will no doubt give you better information and advice but I would say experiment and see what works for you.  Also, take into account that the effects seem slow to show, I find I am most affected by the drug about two hours after taking it,

• Posted

Hi Ana, 

I'm on day 15 of 40mg twice a day for migraine prevention.  I feel sick but haven't actually been sick and generally feel rubbish.  Very light headed and unwell.  I'm back to see my Dr Monday to discuss coming off it.  Obviously I don't take it for anxiety but to be honest I don't feel worse or better for the hour or so after taking it although I've read on here that some people feel an almost immediate benefit.

• Posted

Hi Ana,