Beta Blocker Bisoprolol Fumarate

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi,

My husband was given Bisoprolol Fumarate after a heart attack.  He has suffered every side effect listed.  The doctor said he could stop it and he has just about cleared the side effects but, his cardiologist wants him to take a beta blocker.  Can anyone on this forum recommend a beta blocker that is not going to give him all the side effects please.  When we see the doctor we can then ask for something else instead of bisoprolol.

0 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

• Posted

Hi Jen I’m no doctor but before I went on Bisprolol I was on propranalol for 30+ years and until just lately they’ve served me fine. I’ve had side effects from Bisprolol but the doc reduced from 5 to 2.5mg and don’t want to tempt fate but I seem to be doing ok.  I tried Atenolol a while back but my BP went through the floor so had to stop them. Hope hubby goes on ok. By the way my hubby had heart attack and he now takes atenolol no side effects for him. Good luck to you.
    • Posted

Hi Sue,

He was on 2.5mg but he had every side effect and was so ill. I want to be armed with information about the best one to take before he sees the doctor as he will be forced back on them.

• Posted

hi sue,im so worried im on propananol for anxiety only 10mg twice a day,but I now have high blood pressure and my doctor as said just stop the propananol and go on bispoprolol 2.5mg,im very scared is it safe to just stop one type to go on the other
  • Posted

Hi Jen,  I'm so sorry about your husband suffering the side effects of Bisoprolol.  And 'fingers crossed' for you, that his cardiologist can prescribe him a better one.  The trouble is that most tablets have side effects some more than others.  Amiodarone is a 'no no' the side effects of that particular drug are horrendous!  I'm sorry I can't be of any help but, someone on this forum may be able to suggest a beta blocker that will help. Good luck.

• Posted