Beta blockers and alcohol

Posted , 6 users are following.

So I'm on metoprolol for my tachycardia and tonight I'm supposed to go to a Halloween/end of midterms party where there will be drinking. I actually haven't had alcohol in a while since I've been really focused on school, and I haven't had any since I started my medication. I'm just wondering if anyone on here is on a beta blocker and had alcohol. My doctor never mentioned it and it doesn't say anything on the bottle so I'm assuming it's relatively safe, but I am pretty sensitive to medication (for example I cut the pill in half because I can't handle the full dosage) so I'm afraid alcohol will be a bad idea? I just want to let loose tonight and not let my anxiety ruin my night 😡

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Ive been on beta blocker medication in the past, and I drank alcohol on them and I was fine. It did make me get drunk faster and I felt very tired and groggy the next day. But im not a doctor so I dont actually know if your supposed to drink on them or not. Maybe speak with your GP to be on the safe side smile

• Posted

I would totally have asked my cardio but I didnt even think about it until today and she's not in on Friday's sad but thanks for the reply !

• Posted

How old are you

With medications they do cover their backs If you have just started this new medication be cautious.

I sometimes take these types of drugs and do have a drink enough to wet the babies head

Ask your Surgery, what they advise.

• Posted

If you do drink, be social and curb your drinking a bit I suppose

You can actually go onto NHS Choices and check your medications in the Mimms The drug explanation will explain all you need to know when taking these mdications

• Posted