Binge eating in night whilst on setraline

Posted , 5 users are following.

hi,

i am new to this but has anyone had the following problems

have have been on setraline 100mg for a whiles ans all i crave is sugar. i will binge eat chocolate every night and its driving me nuts! Has anyone had this experience and can anyone help. all i want to do is eat chocolate, especially at night. its got to the point where i wont eat anyth8ng else in the day because of so much chocolate the night before. i even tried to put it out of the way and didfficult to get to so i dont wake the whole house up but am at a loss. thanks

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

hi sue, i don't take sertraline but know i will never take any other anti depressant either. i was interested to read your post though and just wonder what this drug has done to make you crave sugar. do you like sweet chocolate, are you pre-diabetic, does it taste so bad that you have to take the taste away, do you take it at night? i hops someone helps you with this, whoever prescribed this to you needs to be told what it's doing. good luck.

• Posted

hi sam, many thanks for your reply. i have always had a sweet tooth but was always able to control it The other thing i didnt mention is i have been classed anorexic. i was bulimic for many years but thankfully this has now eased off. but to me being anorexic and eating so much chocolate does not make sense. i am guessing i am craving something anything as i do not eat anything all day,, well chocolate. its just making me crazy as you can imagine. i am getting help for this and am hoping one day i will get better. i have always been funny with weight and food for decades but never binged on chocolate. i will go to my doctors ans see if i can lower my dose and see if it helps. i have started to eat fruit and nuts but even though im full i still have the craving. fingers crossed oneday i will post that i am in control again xx

• Posted

dear sue,