bisoprolol

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have paroxismal a fib.  I didnt notice my repeat prescription for bisoprolol was for 2.5 mg instead of my usual 1.25 .  I carried on taking this higher does my usual twice  a day for a month or so until I noticed it.  I then reduced it back to 1.25 twice a day.  I was fine for a week but now have a pulse rate of over 100. for hoursat a time though not all the time.  I am also on apixiban and flecenaid.  My question is how long is this likely to last until my body gets used to it .  Its so difficult to get a doctor's appointment and I am booked for a knee replacement in 2 weeks so need to sort this out.  Any ideas please?

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I would hazard a guess that this pulse rate is not connected to the increased dosage as Bisoprolol would tend to slow the pulse.  It sounds to me, though I am not an expert but a paroxysmal AFib myself) that you are experiencing an increase in the attacks.  Although this sounds depressing, remember that treated AFib is not life threatening but if you are one of the unlucky ones who have alarming symptoms you are aware of during attacks, then this is upsetting.  I wonder if your doctor has tried Flecainide which used to maintain more of a regular pulse rate for me.   GPs  would tend to increase Bisoprolol with increase of attacks.  I decided not to take it because of the side effects described by so many on this forum but the best thing is to return to your GP or consultant and tell him of your suspicions about taking this drug, and maybe work out something different for you to take.  about this drug and ask his advice on its continuation or dosage.
  • Posted

I think its related to coming off the higher dose. I came off Bisoprolol altogether in March from being bradycardic my heart rate was continously when awake over 100 quite often 120 when walking slow. 3 months later its slowed down and doesn't speed up too quickly.Its still needing to slow down a bit more.