Blepharitis and lash extensions?

Posted , 34 users are following.

I have been wearing lash extensions for four years. About six months ago, my eyes started bothering me. I didn't think too much of it until I saw my opthamologist yesterday. She said the pours in my eyelids were clogged and she diagnosed me with blepharitis. I asked if I should have my lashes removed and she said yes, it's a start. Has anyone else developed blepharitis after wearing lash extensions? The woman who does my lashes is extremely professional and is considered the best in my area. I'm hoping I can remove my lashes for a month or so, develop a regime that clears things up, then go back to having lashes. I appreciate any feedback.

2 likes, 94 replies

94 Replies

Next
  • Edited

That is the exact same thing that happened to me.  I've been continuously wearing lash extensions for 5 years.  This past year, I got blepharitis.  I took my lashes off.  However, I tried a few times to get them put back on but my bleph flares up really bad.  I can't even wear eye makeup now without it flaring up.  I'm so bummed

• Posted

I'm nervous the same thing will happen to me. I keep reading it's a chronic condition. Can't figure out where/why it started. I'll let you know how it goes. Curious if anyone else has had a similar experience.

• Edited

its the glue and mke up that clogs the eyelash ducts. ive been withour make up for a year now an my eyes are just starting to look semi normal again, ibe under one three surgeies and another two yet to happen. its my wedding in 6 weeks and im determined i willfind something to wear on my face. im going to try butterfly eye care cosmetics give them a go xxx

• Posted

I just got diagnosed as well and I can not imagine my life without having lashes 😦 If you girls have some tips will be so happy to hear it !

• Posted

i am suffering not being able to wear make up as well for four months now. did your eyelids ever get better?

• Posted