Blepharitis - should I be getting creamy discharge?

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have blepharitis, have been diagnosed for about a month but I think I've had it for quite a while on and off and just didn't know what it was. I started treatment about 2 weeks ago.

My eyes are really crusty in the mornings, with quite a bit of dried discharge stuck to my lash lines and usually quite a lot of creamy / stringy discharge following after I've used my hot cotton pads and massaged as much gunk out of them as I can. It also builds up during the day and every so often I'll check a mirror and notice a blob of it sitting in the bottom of my eye or in the inner corner. I know discharge is a sign of infection but is this normal for blepharitis sufferers before I go calling my doctor?

I'm using a hot compress 1-2 times a day (usually twice but some days are long days at uni and being a student I find it extremely hard to get up in the morning and make time for a 10 minute hot compress). I do a thorough hot massage in the morning, followed by lubricant drops, followed by hydromol ointment for the dry skin around my eyes, I'm always applying hydromol throughout the day and sometimes if my eyes are feeling particularly dry I apply drops as well. I always do a hot compress in the evening, another massage and more drops. Am i doing something wrong or is the discharge normal?

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Glad you have come to this site. For sure you will find loads of advise.

cleaning my eyes with wet wipes morning and night have helped me greatly

• Posted

Thank you! So glad I found it too it's been helpful so far smile have always cleaned my eyes with baby wipes but stopped to use just hot water when I massage them but thank you! Will try using them a bit more often to keep them as clean as possible smile

• Posted