Blood results

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi

I have just had my blood results back ;-

TSH 3.050 (0.270 - 4.200)

Free T4 13.36 (12.- 22)

Free T3 3.7 (3.1 - 6.8)

TPA Negative

So looking at these I guess everything is normal.

I was diagnosed with pernicious anaemia 3 years ago and low vit D this year but over the past year I have felt so tired, I have put on a stone even though I am on a constant diet and I just can't lose it, I'm always cold and have lots of other underactive thyroid symptoms.  What else could it be?  I am just so fed up of feeling rubbish!  Help!

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Sue, have you had folate and ferritin checked? Your T4 is at the lower end of the range, I have limited knowledge, but there is a possibility that you may not be converting T4 (inactive thyroxine) to T3 (the active version of thyroxine) well. Are you taking any supplements? It may be worth taking selenium as this supports the body to convert T4 to T3.

I'm assuming that you are not taking Levothyroxine, or any other thyroid substitute. If you are on Levo, then your TSH actually needs to be under 2.

It could also be worth getting tested for Coeliac disease, this often goes hand in hand with other autoimmune diseases such as pernicious anaemia and thyroid disease. Lastly, have you tried keeping a food and symptoms diary? This helped me get my UAT diagnosis and gluten intolerance confirmed. I kept note of everything i ate,(dont change your diet at this stage) symptoms each day, pulse rate first thing in a morning (UAT often = low pulse rate) and temperature (again this is often lowere if you are UAT).

I found that going to the doctor with 'hard evidence' rather than 'im feeling exhausted' got them to take me more seriously.

Hope this helps, and hope you feel better soon.

• Posted