Blood results

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi there , I'm new to the group and have Hashimotos disease , 

Here are my results, I wasn't converting T4 to T3 so good but have been supplementing with 200mg selenium for a few months and FT3 has increased . I also take 2000iu Vit D , B12 and 100mg Thyroxine 

Was wondering if it might be better to add T3 meds ? 

FT3 4.48 range 2.8 - 7.1 

FT4 18.0 range 12 - 22 

TSH 0.20 range 0.27 - 4.2 

These are my last blood results before starting on selenium ; 

Havent tested for ferritin yet . 

FT3 3.80 RANGE 2.8 - 7.1 

FT4 17.5 RANGE 12 - 22 

TSH 0.20 RANGE 0.27 - 4.2 

Dont really have many symptoms , just a bit extra weight and hot flashes and feeling cold at times.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hello Sanj62:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse and I have Hashimoto's Thyroid disease since 1987.

Thanks for posting your blood work. Hashimoto's does cause problems with converting T4 into T3, myslef included.  I am only on Liothyronine (Cytomel) since I had too high of a TSH which indicates Hypo.  You seem to be within normal levels on your blood work except your TSH which indicates Hyperthyroidism at 0.20 but Hashi's can make you look that way as it swings back and forth between Hyper  & Hypo.  That is one of the characteristics of it.  You could ask the doctor for a small dose of 5mcg Liothyronine and see if you feel. It may balance you more.

Symptoms of Hypothyroidism are:  feeling cold, weight gain, muscle aches, bruising, hair loss, irregular periods, low heart rate, Low temp, constipation, dry skin and brittle nails.  There are more these are common ones.

Hyper (Too Much) makes you have Heat intolerances, sweating & HOT, Thyroid eye problems, heart palpitations, high BP, nervousness, shaking, loose bowels, muscle aches.  There are more, these are comfortable.

Keep taking your meds and keep the minerals and vitamins in good shape. Any questions just ask.

Regards,

Shelly

• Posted