Blood test results with gastro problems

Posted , 1 user is following.

I'm a 25yr old female and for 5 years i've had long standing trouble with bad heartburn, indigestion, nausea and vomiting and abdominal pain. I had an endoscopy in 2015 which showed I had gastritis and advised ongoing PPI's (lansaprazole). Multiple attempts to stop taking PPI's failed and symptoms always returned meaning I would loose a significant amount of weight (1-2stone) as I would be unable to eat. Seen a gastro consultant in 2017 who advised I would need to stay on long term PPI's. So total time on these tablets is currently 4yrs.

Recently (past 1.5 year) I have had trouble with constant tiredness, fatigue, wounds that took ages to heal, muscle weakness, pale, sleep trouble etc. I work in a hospital and spoke with one of my colleauges who is a gastro consultant who ?? vitamin b12 deficiency due to long term PPI and advised seeing my GP regarding this. I did that and got my blood results today.

My ferritin (iron level) was low at 7 (GP said should be 15) my Hb was okay at 120 and vitamin b12 was 203 (normal is 200-900) but the GP said because my Hb was fine they would not be bothered about my low iron level despite me being symptomatic.

I really just need some advice on what to do here because im so fed up and frustrated with the situation now. My GP practice is pretty poor and the GP I spoke to really wasnt interested in my concerns at all.I asked for a print out and will speak with my work colleage again but any advice o anyone with anything similar would be appreciated.

0 likes, 0 replies

0 Replies

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!