BLT

Posted , 4 users are following.

After my fusion at 2 levels 4.5 weeks ago i have taken great care not to bend,lift,twist. I bend my knees and keep my back straight. However today i dropped my insulin pen in an awkward place where i had to bend now i feel worried. 

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Dont be hard yourself its quite easy to do. You'll know pretty quickly if you have done any damage plus you are several weeks ahead.

Get your self a grabber or use BBQ tongs as they are quite long/useful to pick things up. You can also do a lunge over the object keeping your back straight and use the tongs to pick things up. Jacob Shelley utube: Month 2, Microdiscectomy Back Surgery Recovery, Herniated Disc L5-S1 does a good demo 4.05 minute. 

Of course I am only a patient not a professional. 

• Posted

Thank you. I have been hard on myself. BBQ tongs is such a great tip.

i will check out the YouTube tip.

i have spent most of day in bed as i wanted to rest i think i did too much yesterday i did some gentle cleaning 

• Posted

Did u feel any thing different I don't know alot about fusion but u will have to bend soon or later. U don't won't to go stiff. Only u know how it feels
    • Posted

Hi Keith, i do feel different much less pain after fusion and stiff i am nearly week 5 since it happened. I have an appointment to see a physiotherapist on 13 April. They advised walking which i do every day. 

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!