BODY SNATCHED!!! - I want "me" back

Posted , 8 users are following.

Yay, I have found people who are going through the same as me, it seems no one else understands

So, about 4 months ago I started getting hectic hot flushes, about 7-10 a day.....within a week my whole world fell apart and it is getting worse.  I am glad I am not the only one who thinks they are dying from some terminal disease. Turning 50 in a few weeks and I was expecting "the change" but  NO ONE PREPARED ME FOR THIS.  I have always been extremely active, I am a fitness instructor and I run, now I feel that I could not even be bothered getting out of bed most days. I NEVER take medication and now I am on anti-despressants, tranquilizers and sleeping tablets. It's like I woke up one day and I had been body snatched! Here's what I have to deal with on a daily basis:

Hot flushes

heart pulpitations

weakness and shaking

aching muscles and joints, especially between my shoulder blades and my legs

painful breasts

constant anxiety causing chest pain and tightness

I fluctuate between holding back the tears or ripping someone's head off

headaches

extremely dry skin

i try to stay positive and deal with it, but there are days, like today when I go so incredibly overwhelmed and I just so desperately want to be normal again. It's affecting my relationships and interferring with my training which makes me more despressed and anxious as I am training for my first ultra marathon next year.

everyone says "hang in there - it will get better"....well....when???? 

1 like, 21 replies

21 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

True they don't warn us about this. Perhaps they should have antemenopause classes to prepare us like they have antenatal classes to prepared us for giving birth!