Bony protuberance on toe

Posted , 3 users are following.

i have the usual swollen fingers on both hands, but now i have found the bone sticking out of the middle toe which doesnt seem such a bother during the day, but, at night the pain is intense. last night for instance, it woke me at 2 and subsided after about 15 minutes. It started again at 3.15 when I got up to take Paracetamol. Back it came at 4.30 when in desperation I lay on top of the bed clothes to try to ease the pain but i was unable to sleep properly as the pain never really went away until i got up. this started 3 nights ago and I do not have any idea what to do. I only know Paracetamol doesnt do any good. Can anyone help as when I say the pain is intense, it really is and there is no way I could sleep through it.

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Edited

could be a boney spur. see your doc for diagnosis and care. it's hard to diagnose with just a description and i'm not a doctor. it sounds painful , it needs to be taken care of so it does not get worse. there are all types of nerves in the feet. don't risk further injury , it will put your mind at ease to see doctor.

good luck.

• Edited

Isn't the toe often a place where gout (a kind of arthritis) often shows up? My husband was told to drink a lot of fluids, and apparently cherry juice is good. Keep the painful foot elevated and perhaps try icing it for a few minutes occasionally throughout the day.

• Posted

Thanks for taking the time to reply. this is definitely arthritis as i have it in my fingers. the strange this is, it doesnt bother me during the day, its only in bed when it seems lying down and the pressure sets it off. I will try the cherry juice however as its not the first time I have heard of it.

• Posted

I mentioned gout as it is one of the many kinds of arthritis. I hope you get some relief soon.