Boston Scientific Spinal Cord Stimulator Paddle Post Op

Posted , 22 users are following.

I am now 3 1/2 weeks post op from having the Boston Scientific SCS implanted at T5. Due to several different spinal conditions from narrowing disc space to bulges to arthritis to fractures and a twisted spinal cord that no one has ever heard of. I was doing well and am a Severely stubborn person. I sat like a good girl a lot the first 2 weeks. I started getting stir crazy and we went out to the store and walked and I did ok. Worst part at the time was muscle spasms that just held on and wouldn't let go. So at the end of week 3 I went back to work. I am an office manager and am up and down, reaching and bending all day every day. I did well but really sore on Monday. Things were not as good on Tuesday. I started having a really sharp pain in the center of my back that feels like its the spine but I'm not a dr. I know it does not feel like muscle spasms. This pain is getitng progressively worse and I called my rep who told me if its bad see my dr or if really bad go to the ER. I HATE ERs so only if I have exhausted everything under the sun will I go there. I cant get in to see the drs in his office until May 1st. One dr called in a Lidocaine patch for me today but is this something I need to go to the ER for? It stops me dead in my tracks and my pain meds I had before surgery are not touching it. Muscle relaxers do nothing either. I've been putting Ice and heat alternately and that helps a little but its still excruciating. I don't want to be a baby which is why I waited 4 days to even say anything but I can't take this pain for another 2 weeks.... Suggestions? ER or what?

3 likes, 38 replies

38 Replies

Next
  • Posted

You seem to have exhausted all you can on your own.  Going to the ER, is a faster way to be seen and maybe by the surgeon who did the implant.