both feet separate surgeries

Posted , 3 users are following.

hi I'm 38 years old I work in a factory and on my feet for 10 hours a day I was scheduled to have my right foot Done on June 5th and my left foot approximately 4 to 6 weeks later about 18 years ago I had one in surgery on my left foot but all the doctors really do we shave the bump down so unfortunately since the deformed bones were never corrected the bunion came back my ,question is has anyone else I have both feet on on separate occasions a few weeks apart how is your recovery

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Rebecca

I had surgery on my right foot 14 weeks ago. I had the bunion removed and my toe straightened through slicing wedges out of the joint and then the toe was pinned (akins proceedure), if you want your toe straightened too,  which will mean no more bunions then I would strongly advise a longer period between ops, but it depends on the severity of the deformed bones. I am only back to work 50% , I work in school and stand for long periods but not 10 hours at a time. I am not trying to worry you but recovery can be slow.

• Posted

Hi Rebecca, wishing you well for your surgery.

I had scarf/akin on one foot in February and will have my other foot operated on in  June - 17 weeks apart. That's only because my surgeon would'nt do both or the second sooner even though I begged him to!!! I would really have liked my second foot to be done sooner as your having. That way will give you more or less one block of recovery time,  just remember to rest for the first two weeks when they do your second foot !!! Good luck Rebecca. 

• Posted