Boyfriend has sciatica, low back pain, spasms,Chrones disease . How can I help him with excersise?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi, I'm new to this and badly need some advice. My boyfriend has had back problems for years, maybe 10 years. Sciatica (his dad has it from youth), all over pain, shoulder pain and mostly lower back pain with spasms. In his 20's he was in hospital lying down a lot, for a few years on and off . He had chrones disease, which I think in clinical terms now is 'ulcerative colitis' as he had his small bowel removed, and has had an ilolostomy bag for 10years. This stops him from being able to lie on his front. The doctors have been quite useless. He is only 31. Money is an issue, and I wanted any ideas on how I could help him at home with exercises. If anyone has experienced any exercise program or specific yoga that has worked for them. He is so inflexible he is embarrassed to excersise in front of others. Although if anyone knows of any extreme beginner class, or gentle exercise class for back pain this would also be appreciated. In Glasgow, surrounding areas or Edinburgh. He can be so upset at nights with the pain. I give him massages when he needs, but apart from this I am clueless. I explain to him gently that yoga etc will help him. However he honestly just seems to feel hopeless and also says 'where would I find the time'. (travels long way to work and back, then up extremely early to do it all over again. Even if anyone has encouraging words for him, or a way I can introduce helping him with excersise /enthusiasm. Anyone with chrones disease that has the same symptoms. Literally any help is so appreciated! I see reading this back now it is a lot of information. Thank you for taking the time to read this smile Jessica

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Sorry to read this.

How awful for you both.