Breathing problems, cause, and is it reversible?

Posted , 5 users are following.

For those of you with problems with breathing - feeling like you can't get breath enough air in - were you able to get a diagnosis as to what the problem was? ie esophagus scarring, inflammation, hiatal hernia

Were you able to eventually get rid of this problem once you got your acid reflux under control, or is the breathing issue a permanent condition? I'm new to this and my doctor hasn't been much help and I ended up in the ER last night where they ruled out heart and lung issues, but didn't seem to know anything about GERD and shortness of breath. 

I can't imagine being like this for the rest of my life. I'm fine if I sit still all day, but once I start moving around I get the breathing issue back again. It doesn't have to be anything very active; just making a sandwich causes me to feel like I'm not getting enough air. 

Also, do any of you find that when you have this breathing problem, that you feel tired all of the time?

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Anne,

I had a breathing problem, tiredness  and GERD.  Bought an oximeter on amazon. My oxygen level was 88.  I messaged Dr,  he said come in now.  Was diagnosed with bronchitis.  Didn’t get better, was referred to pulmonologist.  CT scan showed benign lung nodules. Pulmonary test said maybe copd. Pulmo said copd, use inhaler and get a echocardiogram.  Will have Echo in June. Meanwhile GERD under control. Breathing ok right now,  but on inhaler. 

Was your O2 level low?  Under 88 dangerous. 

• Posted

My O2 levels were checked yesterday and were 98 which is good. I also had an ECG and chest x-ray and both were clear of any problems. So now that heart and lung issues have been eliminated I need to get my esophagus checked. 
  • Posted

98 o2 levels!  Very good. I had a clear chest X-ray before CT scan.  I’m anxious for the echo, my heart may not be pumping up to par.