Broken Ankle, Need Advice and some positive stories.

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hi! I broke my fibula, dislocated my ankle, and tore ligaments +tendons back on Dec. 11. (Right Ankle) I am currently 7 weeks POST OP and I am struggling. I am still NWB, due to the trauma of the injury, the bones have not yet to fuse. I am looking at another 6 weeks before I am probably able to put my foot down. I am having so much trouble because I am extremely depressed, and I can’t seem to have the urge to do anything. I just sit all day and cry. I always think that my injury will never get better, and I will never be able to walk again. I am only 20, but i’m not sure how the body will heal at this age, but I was a college student, who had to take the semester off to recover. I was just wondering if I could get any advice on this. I am trying my hardest to look at the end of the tunnel, but i’m so worried that my summer will be ruined (6 months from now) I just want my life to be normal! Please help!!!

1 like, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Alexander,

Don't succumb to worry and despair about your injured ankle. Yes, it may look bleak now but it does get better, much better, if you do the right things to recover.

As a member of the broken ankle fraternity (right medial bimalleolar fracture) I know that this is an injury that causes great angst among many patients. However, everybody gets through it and on to the road of recovery. Be brave and soldier on. Have faith in your body's ability to heal itself (especially at your youthful age)

Don't take a full recovery as a given thing, though. Ankle injuries are notorious for being sometimes difficult and stubborn, and even difficult to get full recovery of your remembered ankle function back.