Broken distal fibula in boot - swollen and uncomfortable - any advice?

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am new to this. My doctor gave me the boot on Monday and no real instructions. Do I keep it elevated 24/7? Do I take it out and ice it? Do I still take anti inflammatory's? I have a knee walker which is a savior but it's also killing my knee. If I keep my foot down it gets all swollen. How do I even know if I have the boot on right? Ugh!

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

i would definitely call the doc office and get advice on elevation (which i think is good whenever you are sitting) and taking it out of the boot. for the knee scooter, i literally put a whole pillow on mine, and it saved my knee!!

karen

• Posted

That is so frustrating! My doc did the same thing. At first I didn't even know what questions to ask. First, the boot never feels like it's on right, its heavy and uncomfortable. Try to keep your foot elevated more than you think necessary. If your foot swells when your eating dinner for 20 mins, elevate it after 10. When you work up to 30 mins of non swelling, elevate it after 20. I am up to 4 hours without swelling but I still try to elevate it every 2 hours. I hate taking all meds, so I weaned myself off of motrin within 2 weeks of my surgery. My reasoning is that if you are altering your bodies responses then it is harder to figure out what you need. I started taking my boot off after about a week just to ice it. Honestly, it really hurt at first. My foot was so hyper sensitive but I was glad when I started PT that I had worked through that on my own. Hope this helps! Also I didn't use my knee scooter much so no help to offer on that front.

• Posted