Broken Fibula ORIF - 2 weeks post op

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi everyone,

Wondering if anyone had a similar injury to me. I fractured my fibula about 3.5 weeks ago and had surgery 12 days later. Now I'm nearly 2 weeks post op.

I have a plate and 7 screws along my fibula. Did anyone have a similar injury and have a timeline of how they recovered. I understand that a break solely in the fibula is not the most serious of ankle injuries.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi

I've got the exact same injury! Done mine back in November.

I had what they call a delayed union which was my first follow up xray the bone wasn't fusing as well as hoped but 5 weeks later it was looking a lot better.

For me recovery time to walk unaided and without pain was about 13 weeks.in that time

tho I have had to buy various support for knees and ankle.

Shockingly i also put on about 14lb due to 6 weeks non weight bearing and minimal movement.

I'm a nurse and have returned to work however i currently use crutches for travelling as shifts do make my ankle quite swollen and stiff. Furthermore i was recently in Australia for 3 weeks and things going really well until my son smashed into me and the ligament on inside of ankle is very swollen and painful! So that hasn't helped with my recovery and its difficult to determine if any pain and swelling is from break recovery or current ligament injury x

Also may not be the 'worse' injury but extremely painful and debilitating!

• Posted

HI daniel

I broke and my fibula back in January and I had orif surgery on the same day . i had a long metal plate and 6 screws fitted and have been non weigh bearing for nearly 8 weeks now.