broken heart

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello, I'm a medical student, I'm from Mexico and I'm studying at the University of the Valley of Mexico, it's only my first year. I would like to know about the broken heart to do my homework.

- Does the broken heart exist?

If the problem exists, how does it work and what kind of people commonly affect it?

i wil appreciate your response, thank you very much

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Ricardo!

I have other heart issues, but not broken heart syndrome.

You may get responses here, but if you don't Facebook has alot of groups that focus on a variety of heart problems.

If you haven't already you may want to check them out.

Good luck!

Kathy

• Posted

I’m neither a medical student nor a nurse, but in my 80 or so years I have known personally of elderly partners in long marriages (40-50 years or more) who have died within a day or two of each other, usually, in the case of the second death, without previous signs of illness, and those deaths have been referred to as "broken heart” deaths.  The cause of death is frequently a stroke or heart attack.Don’t know if this helps.  Could just be coincidence.

• Posted

I have heard of the broken heart deaths My great grandmother had Alzheimer's and died in her late 90s my great grandfather died a couple weeks after from what I'm told. My sister in-laws mother died in July of 2017 and her father August of 2018 so just over a year apart. They were both in their mid 60s.

• Posted

I've heard of patients dying from "broken heart sydrome", which in medical terms is referred to as Takatsubo's cardiomyopathy.  In imaging studies the heart actually takes on the shape of an octopus pot, which is filled with