Bulge in side

Posted , 5 users are following.

I'm getting over the Shingles rash.  I have developed a large bulge in my side where I had the rash.  I experienced severe pain in this area just before the breakout and stll have the pain now.  I was told by a non professional that it is a shingles bump. Is it related to shingles or is it a hernia

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi!

I am a nurse practitioner in the States and have had Herpes Zoster-Shingles in my right ear every three to five weeks for the last 20 years.

There is no such thing as a "Shingles bump."

Are you male or female?

How old are you?

What is your occupation?

Where is the bulge? Is it in the groin or umbilical area? Is it more prevalent

When you stand?

When you cough?

Is it reducible?

Is it getting larger?

Do you feel more pressure or pain when you cough?

When you stand?

If it is in the groin area and the answers are yes, you certainly could have a hernia.

You need to see a physician for diagnosis and treatment.

Please let me know how you are doing regarding this. I hope you have recovered from the shingles.

Best Wishes

Merry Juliana

• Posted

Merry, I am always delighted to read your great posts and know you are doing all for us 'post shingles' people. Thank you.

Can you tell me when you begin to take the valciclovar or  other meds when you symptoms begin.   I'm now in an exhausted stage, even earaches, light ones, all muscles v. painful and pain medication doesn't seem to work long .  I discontinued the Gabapentin as I was traveling from the UK to Calif. and now the doctor wants me to restart while there with an  family member undergoing surgery but she never prescribes for pain.   Can you send me your doctors details to contact? Is this permitted on this site?

• Posted

Avey,

I don't think my physician would do be able to treat you as he is on the Atlantic Coast and California is on the Pacific Coast 3000 miles