Bunion and hammer toe surgery

Posted , 2 users are following.

So 4 weeks later I've lost the little disc on one in and (disgusting though it may sound but utterly rewarding) have slowly peeled off about 8 inches of dead dried skin on sole/between toes) !!! There IS something to do in All those weeks of boringly sitting with foot up!!! 😂😂

0 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

• Posted

Hi I am new to the blog! I joined it as am due to have bunion surgery in 3days scared as hell!!

How was you after surgery & can you walk? Also what is the pain like!???hope you are doing well 🙂

• Posted

Sore for first few days but after that absolutely fine. They'll give you ibuprofen and paracetamol to last couple of weeks but hardly needed them. Just rest with foot propped up as much as poss first two weeks

• Posted

Thank you! How soon after could you walk? As I have to do school run 😭 & Mother things as usual!! Am So worried as it's in 3days! Also am worried of the general anaesthetic??

• Posted

Hi Claire. I had a bunion and two hammer toes (pins in) fixed. I'd say write off the first three days, mostly in bed , I could walk for short spurts after that but my foot did swell a wee bit and went a bit hot/red til I propped up for an hour again. can't imagine you'll manage school run (more like crawl) for at least 3 weeks and of course no driving for at least 6 weeks after op. Let me know if there's anything else I can help with. Us Scots are a hardy lot 😀

• Posted

General anaesthetic makes you feel a bit sick for first day ( I was sick twice, once 2 hrs after op then again just before partner picked me up) but fine after 24 hrs
    • Posted

Was you nervous before the surgery?? I am so scared!! Am 26 & not had surgery since I was 8 😔

• Posted