bunion surgery

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi, i just want to share some good news about bunion surgery, i had a bunionectomy and osteotomy a week ago today and have been given a wedge shoe and crutchs, iv had a really good experience, no pain and not required any pain relife, i have found i can walk without the shoe and crutches and have been doing light house work and have not had my foot up much, i have a staple in the toe and have my dressings of in a week, has anyone else had such good experiences?

0 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Adele,

My name is ellen I am almost 5 weeks post op, I am 55 years old so I antiipated a long healing process,I  am still wearing the boot and the pain is minimal now,just trying to walk ,but it seems I am side walking,without the boot,and not bending my knee when I am walking.I work in Retail so I need to wals real soon,I havw a velcro compression bandage on my foot now,I will be going back on wed.I will tell you more then.I am glad you had a good experience,you are though among the few i have seen or read about in this forum. ill talk to you soon....Ellen

• Posted

My Akin Osteotomy operation was done June 2014 when I had to wear the surgical boot for six weeks even while sleeping. The only problem was leaving the spacer between my toes for too long leaving a permanent space which was my fault. Now I can't wear flip flops without it falling off being loose between the toes. Other than that I'm very happy with the operation. You're very lucky not having any pain relief wherefore I was on it for six weeks causing constipation.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!