Bunion Surgery - footwear/general recovary advice?!

Posted , 4 users are following.

I'm about 7 weeks in recovery from Bilateral Scarf Akin Osteotomy (bunion surgery on both feet) and am concerned about still not being able to walk properly or go back to work (as I work in a shop and on my feet all day) currently the only thing that fits me are my slippers but I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to the best kind of shoes to wear (now I'm out of the very attractive medical boot/shoes!) 

Would also be good to know how long it took people to be able to exercise again - I'm missing my yoga but can't imagine being able to do it any time soon?

I've also not been given any physio exercises which seems a little strange?

Would appreciate any advice! thanks xxx

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Brave to do both feet at once! I had a lapidus akin done on August 25 last year. Non weight bearing 30 days then walking boot for 3 more weeks. My advice to you is get some physical therapy because what they don’t tell you is that all the muscles, tendons and ligaments that work together to move your feet get weak in recovery. I overdid it and got tendinitis in the bottom of my foot. As far as shoes go - I got some Keens which worked great for me. You may have to just experiment to see what feels good and allows you to stand and move comfortably. Patience is key because full recovery takes a long time! 
    • Posted

I thought it'd be good to get them both out of the way to avoid going under the knife twice - but it hasn't been easy I must admit! I will check those shoes out thank you smile 

• Posted