burning sensation and night sweats

Posted , 4 users are following.

I've been taking mirtazapine for sleep and to aid with benzo taper which was completed 6 weeks ago. Started with 3.75mg and now 9 weeks later have tapered down to 2mg.

Since I started 9 weeks ago I've had night sweats which at first attributed to benzo taper but since I haven't seen any lessening of this symptom it makes me think it's the mirtazapine?

Also, last night I not only woke up sweating but my back felt like it was on fire. Almost like a bad sunburn.

Anyway, did anyone have these symptoms as a side effect of either taking or tapering?

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I got night sweats when I started mirt - but they stopped after a few weeks.

Best wishes.

• Posted

sometimes I'll go a night or two without but mines is still pretty persistant unfortunately. The new burning sensation is what is concerning me more now as this is new.

• Edited

Hi, I think is from benzo withrawl. I'm not a doctor,but I stoped clonazepam 6 months ago and I taking remeron 3.6 mg. I still have bad headache from benzo withrawl. But is getting better very slowly. Benzo withrawl can last for 1-2 years even. Is depend how long you were on it. I hope it will be shorter for you. Burning skin is one of the comen  symtoms. I'm on benzo body forum and I got lots of info from there. Check out sucsessfull story on BB

Good luck 

I think you taper to fast. They recommend only 10% every 3-4 weeks.

• Posted

thanks Eva. I am aware of the 10% every 3-4 weeks but I'm wondering if that applies to even short term use? Otherwise it would take me forever to get off mirtazapine if indeed it is the culprit of night sweats and burning sensations. I know I should take it slower but I've been eating too much sweets on it plus having a hard time getting up in the morning any earlier than 8:30am. I need to start working again and this won't fly if I need to get up earlier.