Burst/broken blood vessel in head of penis?

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi guys,

As all probably start their queries on this particular board I have a bit of an embarrassing question..

So, I've noticed since last weekend I have what looks like a burst blood vessel on the head of my penis around the opening of the urethra. I noticed this about 8-9 days ago, and assumed I'd strained too harsh whilst urinating or during sex and thought it would heal in a day or two.

About mid way through last week, after masturbating, I noticed the reddy purple spot had returned. It seems to increase when I get an erection, which is something I've tried to induce in myself a few times, as I panicked thinking I'd broken my penis (as you do) so wanted to ensure I was still able to get an erection.

It's a little concerning, but as I said, the blotching seemed to be going until I 'used' my penis again a few days ago so I'm wondering if this is some sort of burst/broken blood vessel or capillary that I should be letting heal for a week or so before checking back.

Any thoughts would be very welcome.

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Edited

We're used to embarrassing questions here.  Yours sounds unusual, but that doesn't mean it's anything serious.  My guess would be that it will just fix itself, but it's hard to offer suggestions without a pic.

This should help you add images:

https://patient.uservoice.com/knowledgebase/articles/402861-how-do-i-add-an-image-to-my-post

If you're using a phone or tablet, you may need to choose the desktop/PC option in your browser.

• Edited

Thanks for your reply!

I will definitely post a picture or two later. Just tried on my mobile but the option isn't available.

• Edited

Actually, ignore that.. Here are a couple of pictures. It looks sort of like burst vessels on either side. 
    • Edited

Those aren't in focus, but I think it might just be a mild form of balanitis or possibly friction damage: