BV, Yeast and never ending burning

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hey guys,

I am new to all this. I am reaching out because I quite frankly am at the end of my rope with what to do. I need help, help that my doctor just can't seem to  provide.

Heres my story:

April 2016 I started feeling a burning sensation that felt kind of like a yeast/uti problem. I went to the gyno, and was told I had BV and yeast. Ive had recurrent BV for a few years now so not totally a suprise... but through all the BV I have had I have never experienced such a painful burning sensation like this. Not when I pee, but just a constant pain that feels, not to be graphic but like somebody scrapped rusty nails against my vagina. I then went down the happy trail of antibitoics ... First Metrogel and then Difulcan, then Tindamax with Diflucan and then Clindamycin with Diflucan.. and a whole bunch of vitamins and home remedies along the way. Every test and culture comes back fine.. other than my elevated PH and slightly above average sugar my blood work and urine looks great. 

As a stretch... my doc put me on Valtrex because I have tested positive... like 90% of the population for HSV1... and again.. the burning never ceased. We then tried boric acid suppositories, which helped a little I think.. but still though the BV is gone.. STILL the inflamation exists. It has barely ever dulled since the beggining of this. I don't know what to do anymore... I am frustrated and just emotionally drained. Everything these days makes me cry.. I am 27 years old and I am in more pain than I could ever imagine...I keep hearing don't worry this won't be permanent... after 3 months its hard to think there is a light at the end of the tunnel... Suggestions? 

1 like, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Your symptoms sound like you may have Lichen Sclerosis. Take a look at the LS boards and if you feel the symptoms are similar go back to your doctor and ask for a referral to a vulva dermatologist. 
    • Posted