can anyone help with coming off gabapentin??

Posted , 4 users are following.

Can anyone help me as I am a newbie!!  Been on gp for 4 months 800 mg at night.  I really want to come off these.  I cannot ask gp as my sister put me on them for feet pain, now I want to come off these but dont know how?

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Well, you may have noticed but Gaba. does not really help for pain very well anyways..... a common analgesic like ibuprofen would do better......you should not have let your sis talk you into taking a drug without prescription really.  Have you noticed any bad side effects ?  Well I have alot of experience withdrawing from gaba. since I was on it for 4 years.  Was using up to 1200 mg/per day.....I tapered off slowly for a 4 months period and now am off completely.  Since you have only taking it for 4  months, it should not take very long......what ever you do, dont withdraw abruptly.....you will have side effects............getting to your point, I would suggest you try withdrawing about 100 mg/ per week . would take maybe 6 or 7 weeks......i'm being very conservative since it is better too slowly than too quickly......once I got down to 100 mg/ per day....I started splitting the capsule (100 mg/ capsule in to 50 mg/ taking it twice per day.....then a week later down to 25 mg/ taking it 2 times per day.....then lastly  only 25 mg/ per day for 7 days.......I'm now completely off for 6 weeks and I feel fine.......good luck..

• Posted

Do it very very slowly! I was on 3200 mgs, brought down way to fast, been almost a year and am finally doing fine except still have stomach issues!!

Do not rush this..

• Posted