Can eating Sterol spread make you lose weight?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all!

I'm new to Cholesterol issues, having been told by my Doc that I have slightly high levels. Given a 4.5% chance of heart problems (low, I know, but he was still concerned).

I have IBS, which means I can't eat the usual cholesterol-reducing foods.

I thought I'd try a cholesterol-reducing sterol spread, to see if it would reduce the levels.

However, two months in, and I find I have lost about a stone in weight, which is not good news for me, as I only weighed about 9.5 stone before! I'm down to 8.5 stone and getting worried!

Can sterols inhibit the absorbtion of fat to such an extent that I'd lose this amount of weight? I don't eat a lot of fat anyway (cheese and butter being about the only things. Oh, and the occasional sausage!)

I'm a 45-year-old male, incidentally!

Any advice of insight would be great. 

1 like, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi FroodyDude

plant sterols shouldn't cause such extreme weight loss, in fact all they are is plant cholesterol. They work simply by replacing human cholesterol with plant, this means our bodies are lead to believe we have enough cholesterol so production is slowed down. When a test is done our human cholesterol is lower than previously but all we've done is replace it with plant cholesterol, which I may add might not be a good thing. There have yet to be any studies to show how our bodies react to taking in plant cholesterol so I personally wouldn't take them in any form.

as far as weight loss can I ask if you've been advised ( wrongly) by doctor to cut out fat? Or eat low fat? If yes then this could be your weight loss problem.

all animal fat is good for us, by animal fat I mean saturated, so sausages and in fact all meat is fine to eat. Man made fat like sunflower oil, vegetable oil etc is a no go, they are very bad for us,